Posted by: oatsandchocolate | January 18, 2010

the small things(:

hey- happy sunday night(: i hope you all had a wonderful weekend! my aunt, uncle, and my little cousin finny left back for ny early this morning- miss them already! started off this beautiful sunday with a bowl of ….

OATS! oats with banana & Β egg white whipped in, accompanied by a crumbled organic very berry granola bar, banana sliced on top, sliced almonds, clementine, & raisins on the bottom- yummm! i love it when you reach the bottom and there they are πŸ™‚ its like when you used to get the presents in the cereal-

after going on a walk with my dad on saturday afternoon, i walked into the house to find the smell of my aunts famous freshly baked raisin crumble rolls. i flew into the kitchen to pick up a warm doughy thing of goodness, and slathered some peanut butter right on πŸ˜› what a yummy snack! Β dont you love aunts?

this is from a body lotion i got for christmas! strange i know, but this quote was really relatable to me:

how you climb up the mountain is just as important as how you get down the mountain.

this makes me think so much about how the path i was on months ago was so horrible and scary, and to get back to health that path was also scary, but it was so beautiful and inspiring and taught me so much! Β i saw this and i really wanted to share this with everyone who is recovering, recovered, or even just seeking a little advice from the lotion doctors πŸ˜‰

i hope you all had an AMAZING, sunshiney weekend, and i send you all huge hugs for this upcoming week!

xoxo always

soph

Responses

  1. love the oats! I love your idea of putting the raisins on the bottom for a little treat at the end! I’ve gotta try that!

  2. I love aunts! mine is actually a chef/pastry chef πŸ˜‰ lol, so alll the better! omg that bread looks so good, and those oats, love raisins at the bottom! like prezzys at the bottom of cereal box, yes! πŸ˜€

    I love that prefume/lotion i have the same brand but called “unconditional love” πŸ˜‰ Love that quote on the amazing grace, so so true!!! ur amazing, and u never fail to make my day, or make me laugh, u are soooooooooo wonderful. πŸ™‚

    love you! and off to sleep dreaming of us 3 old ladies in our past life at the farmers market sitting and waiting for free samples of food while screaming at all the young men walking by! LOL hahaa. πŸ˜‰ =PP

    xoxo
    maya

  3. Sophie!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    okay you make me ^ that happy lol…ahh okay love how wordpress makes your smiles like into little heads so funny! any hoo, lol…love your oats, raisins at the bottom, genius hehe, you are tooo cute! and love that philosophy lotion i have(well maya has) haha and she shares the unconditional love one, and that quote from the lotion doctors πŸ˜‰ is so amazing, and so great to think about, climbing up the “mountain” of recovery is so important and as you so nicely put going down is so so scary and going up is scary too but going up is so much more worth it! πŸ™‚ thanks for sharing that with us beautiful girly, you are amazing, and umm i love sophie. end of story.

    XOXO
    Eliza

  4. That’s some very wise lotion you’ve got there! There’s a bottle of my mom’s Aveeno sitting not too far from me, but it doesn’t say anything very insightful. πŸ˜‰
    Raisins at the bottom is such a good idea… Then you’re not as sad about the bowl being finished because you get the surprise at the end! Ah and I used to fish through the box of cereal for the present… Little rebel I was!

    Rachael*

  5. This is a nice post. I am so awed that you say you have come a long way. That is so …hopeful. Lovely oats…needs some nut butter πŸ™‚
    I know it sounds corny…but that song by Miley Cyrus “climb” kind of says some good lines too…yeah , miley cyrus….i am like 10+ years older than her πŸ™‚ oh well.

  6. i lvoe that quote!! seriously it makes so much sence in every apsect of our live. thank you for sharing it here!
    love your oats
    xoxo

  7. grace is a beautiful thing, especially Gods grace! it keeps us in line with Him!!! love it girl πŸ™‚

  8. And a happy sunday night to you too πŸ™‚
    (even though it’s monday as I’m writing this!)

    Well done food wise and that body lotion is cool – I never knew you could get philosophical body lotion – I want some!

    Thanks for a lovely happy sunny entry miss πŸ™‚

    Sarah x

  9. I love hiding random stuff at the bottom of my oat bowls too. πŸ˜› I’ve got a vanilla & nutmeg scented body lotion from The Body Shop but other than it’s beautiful aroma, it doesn’t hold any inspirational words!

    Love that quote! Thanks for sharing. An amazing week ahead for you too πŸ˜€

  10. Another UK blogger! (Ok, American blogger IN the UK but whatever!) So nice to have found you sweetie, you have such an inspiring story and seem so positive and happy πŸ™‚
    Love the munchies too, that breakfast (is that a dorset cereals granola bar?!) and wow I can just imagine how amazing that doughy cinnamon roll was.
    Love xoxo

  11. Delicious looking oats, girly! And I love that quote. Recovery is a scary thing… but being sick is even scarier… Hope you have a good week ahead, and thanks for the hugs πŸ™‚

  12. Thank you for the comment! πŸ™‚ Your oats look beautiful. Love the presentation (and the name of your blog)! I don’t know how this applies philosophically, but personally, climbing up the mountain is tough, but going down is just plain scary…

    Have a lovely Monday!

  13. Ohhh that lotion is so good! I love it too when you find surprises on the bottom of your oat or yogurt bowl!

    xoxo
    Maggie

  14. that bowl of oats looks fantastic. at first the clementines looked like egg yolks and i was like what the heck? but now i see πŸ˜‰

  15. Thanks for the lovely comment πŸ™‚
    Lol I love to ‘hide’ little bits in my food, I used to poke my raisins to the bottom in my porridge so its was like a little treat when I got to the bottom
    That was a lovely quote and its really great to hear your heading on the right path now πŸ™‚
    xox
    Laura

  16. Just found your blog and I love reading it!
    I would love it of you could check out mine:)
    jennaelise.blogspot.com
    Jenna

  17. Hey lovely!
    I adore your blog it is so inspiring and wonderful! Your positivity and beauty are so radiant!! Thank you for that quote, I am in recovery and it is really helpful for me atm, i saved it πŸ˜‰
    Look forward to reading more of your wonderful posts!
    All my ❀
    Amanda

  18. hey! i have the grace perfume and i like it quite a lot πŸ™‚ not so much the scent, but the message for sure.

  19. Rolls look yummy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

