Posted by: oatsandchocolate | January 13, 2010

Cookie time!

hey! happy wednesday 😀 i had a basketball program today- i’ve been doing it since monday and im loving it! i have to make sure i eat A WHOLE LOT though! sometimes i think i forget how much my body truly needs… the only person who can keep me healthy IS me- does that make sence? well today me and my 5 year old cousin finn had a fun night together! my mom and my aunt were at the soup kitchen all night so i was  happy to watch him: he is the cutest and guess what? he loves blog surfing! i was like OKAY we are definitely related! 😛

Finny in all his glory!

We decided to make cookies together! He lovesss nuts so decided to adapted some recipes and come up with this crazy creation… he even made one shaped as a giraffe!

FINNY’S ORANGE ALMOND OAT DELIGHTS(:

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup sliced almonds

½ cup oats

½ cup agave

½ cup sunflower oil

½ tsp vanilla

2 tbsp lemon zest

Grind the oats in a food processor  (or blender if you dont have one 😉 next add in the flour and mix it all up! gradually pour in the oil and agave together in a separate bowl. Add the vanilla & lemon zest, and mix for a minute or so! roll about an inch of dough into a ball and place on a cookie sheet (oiled or covered in parchment paper) and flatten- bake for 10 minutes and most importantly… ENJOY!

*makes 22 cookies and one giraffe shaped cookie 😉

crumbled into a bowl with green and blacks vanilla ice cream and smooshed strawberries and conserve 😀 !

i hope you all had an amazing wednesday!

xoxo

soph ♥

Responses

  1. AHHH Finny is so so cute!!!! eeee and i am going to make finnys orange oat almond cookies, finny sure has good/adventurous taste for being a little boy 😉 and loves blog surfing okay you officially have the cutest most amazing little cousin ever !! hehe
    and yes that makes so much sense the only person who can keep you healthy is you, i know whatcha mean girly, like we are the ones that have the choice to do the right thing and nourish ourselves, sure people can make us but in the end we have to keep ourselves healthy cause, this is the only body we have right? 😉

    love you soo so much cutie!
    xx
    Eliza

  2. Five years old and blog surfing? Lol…I don’t think I’d even touched the computer when I was five. Lovely cookies. I understand what you mean by the only person who can keep yourself healthy is you. Responsibility lies in our hands, sometimes the burden is so heavy and scary!

    Ahhh…I used to play bball during recess back in my secondary school. Miss those carefree days. Have a great day!

  3. awww so sweet yall made breakfast together! i love it!!

  4. omg he’s adorable! and those cookies look excellent :]

  5. Aww your cousin is a cutie and definitely has good taste. Oatmeal cookies with nuts are the best kind there is… and cookies with ice cream is always a perfect snack.

    It really is hard to believe how much fuel the body truly needs. We’re so quick to underestimate it and that leads to all of our problems… stay strong on your journey to health 🙂

  6. 5 years old and already blog surfing? My, my, I see a blogger in the making ! 😀

  7. A 5 year old blog surfer? Is he my future child? Hahaha, he is so cute!
    I am insanely jealous of how pretty those cookies turn out… what is your secret?
    I am scared of making cookies because they always look like mutated balls of sugary fluff. They never look like cookies. Gimme tips 🙂

    And I hear you on how hard it is to believe the amount of fuel we need. I underestimate my body ALL THE TIME and am just now getting the hang of things.
    Listen to your body and feed it what it needs and more!
    I know you can do it.

    -Karina

  8. Aaw your cousin is such a cutie pie…. And a blog lover too? Be still my heart!
    I’ve been reading your blog for a while and love it. Your sunny disposition never fails to brighten up my day. Hope your week is going well. 😉

    Rachael*

  9. lol a 5 year old bloggie? start em young! 😉

  10. yum…those cookies sound delish!

    I wish I had a bloggie partner in crime – he is adorable!

    xoxo


Leave a Reply

Categories

